IQ shakes up their lineup – again!


This may be sorta old news, but I just found out about it, and so I’m passing it along. There’s been another major shake-up in the IQ line-up. On October 7, 2010, the IQ web site announced that new keyboardist Mark Westworth had decided to leave after three years in the band. He gave as a reason: “I’ve made a decision to follow my head rather than my heart and will be leaving the band at the end of the year. Having to juggle family life, a full time job and finding time to play all this prog nonsense has been more than a handful of late.” On January 1, 2011, IQ announced that Neil Durant (Sphere3) would be his replacement.

No sooner was this resolved than the band got a double-whammy. On January 7, 2011, bassist John Jowitt also announced his plan to leave IQ, saying only: “I’ve had a great time, met lots of wonderful people, travelled the world, but it’s time to move on. I’d like to confirm that this is my decision, and also that it has no relationship to me playing with any other band”. Within days (Jan. 14), the band announced the return of original bassist Tim Esau to the fold. The announcement ends with the band’s reassuring words: “Rest assured we have no plans for further line-up changes in the near future! We look forward to seeing you all on this year’s exciting IQ30 tour”.

For those keeping count, this leaves only Mike Holmes and Peter Nicholls leftover from the Frequency line-up, but it does make 4 out of 5 of the original members back together again. So it’s either a massive shake-up or a return to form, depending on how you look at it. Since I really liked Frequency, I’m a bit concerned about this, but of course I’ll reserve judgement until after I’ve had a chance to hear the new (… er … old?) line-up in action. — Fred Trafton



Click here for the IQ web site
Click here for IQ‘s MySpace page

Leave a Reply

