The Orb – Metallic Spheres

When I heard that The Orb had teamed up with Pink Floyd‘s David Gilmour, I must admit that I was hoping for a new Gilmour solo album, like On An Island or something.

Undeterred by the reviewers who said, “this ain’t no David Gilmour solo album”, I went ahead and ordered Metallic Spheres. “How bad could it be?” I thought. Since I love Gilmour and like The Orb, I can’t go wrong, right?

Well, for better or worse, the other reviewers were dead on. This is, indeed, no David Gilmour solo album. In fairness, it doesn’t claim to be. The credits say it’s The Orb featuring David Gilmour, and that’s exactly what Metallic Spheres is. It’s music by The Orb with Gilmour playing solos on various sorts of guitars around the trancey electronics. From what I’ve read, the influence went the other way too, with Gilmour soloing and The Orb (Archie Patterson and Youth) composing a backing context for it, and rearranging the guitar parts to fit as well.

So, is it OK? Well, yeah, it is. It’s not the next great thing in music. It’s certainly not the next David Gilmour solo album. But it’s not bad. I’ve listened to it several times. It’s The Orb. Expect no more than that and you won’t be disappointed. And one more chance to hear Gilmour‘s Floydian guitar work along with that? It’s the icing on this cake. I think many GEPR readers will like this if they give it a chance. — Fred Trafton



Click here for The Orb‘s web site (which currently just sends you to their MySpace page)

Leave a Reply

